Wholly Healthy Momma

A site meant to share healthy versions of delicious food so that more people can enjoy living a healthier lifestyle!

Vegetable Lasagna

on August 26, 2015

When I was younger my mom would buy the Stouffer’s Vegetable Lasagna, which I LOVED!  Because only mom and I liked it, we didn’t have it often and when we did I ate a good portion of it… so of course it was something I made sure to have when I got married.  When it became too expensive to buy, I made my own recipe.  When I changed my eating habits it was easy to continue making this – all I needed to do was change from white pasta to whole wheat.  Recently I served it to a group of friends who requested the recipe, so I am sharing it with the world!  You can find this and more in this document – my Healthy Recipies,  This is just a general guideline, add any vegetables you like!  I often use whatever I have on hand – the last time I made it I included cabbage, green beans and peas – it always turns out great.

Veggie Lazagne

Vegetable medley

Doesn’t this look beautiful?

Vegetable Lasagna

Ingredients

1 ½ cup frozen chopped spinach

2 carrots

1 small Zucchini squash

1 small yellow squash

1/2 cup broccoli

1/2 cup cauliflower

4-6 fresh mushrooms

2 cloves garlic, minced

½ cup chopped onion

2 Tablespoons Butter

2-3 Cups Monterey Jack Cheese

8 oz pkg. of Ricotta

6 Whole Wheat lasagna noodles cooked and drained

Sauce ingredients

2 Tbsp butter

1 cup parmesan cheese

1 cup mozzarella cheese

2 cups Heavy cream

Lemon pepper to taste

Garlic salt to taste

Italian seasonings to taste

Sauce Directions:

Melt butter in sauce pan, add cream and seasonings.  Add cheeses.  Stir until melted.   Add cream or cheese if needed to adjust consistency.

Directions

  1. cut all vegetables into julienne strips about 1 inch in length, or small chunks
  2. sauté carrots in butter about 3 minutes add broccoli and cauliflower, cook and additional 3 minutes.  Add zucchini, squash and mushrooms cook another 2 minutes. Add onion and garlic sauté until all vegetables are tender.  Add spinach, cook until heated through.
  3. put a little sauce on the bottom of a lasagna pan, place 2 noodles in the bottom of the pan next spread ¼ in layer of ricotta over noodles, then spread ¼ in layer of vegetable mixture. Sprinkle a layer of cheese then pour a layer of sauce.  Add 2 noodles, continue pattern until pan is full ending with noodles, cheese and sauce.
  4. bake in 350o oven until heated through
Leave a Reply

Sugar-Free Mom

Just another WordPress.com site

Chocolate Covered Katie

The Healthy Dessert Blog

Creative Nutrition

How to Make the Foods we Need to Eat

