Wholly Healthy Momma

A site meant to share healthy versions of delicious food so that more people can enjoy living a healthier lifestyle!

Goldfish Crackers

on September 16, 2014

My oldest daughter loves goldfish crackers… but of course I’m not thrilled with the ingredients.  So, I promised her that I would make her some… This really was a labor of love, first I learned to make cheez it’s, which are actually VERY simple.  I found a great  recipe on the internet that was perfect.  See it here: http://www.time2saveworkshops.com/homemade-cheez-its-only-6-ingredients-healthier-version/), then I figured out how to make mini cookie cutters (I looked around to buy premade ones but couldn’t find anything. Finally, I was able to make the goldfish as promised.  Both the girls really enjoyed  them but it sure took a lot of work to cut out all those little fish.  So… with love for my daughters, here it is…

Goldfish Crackers Goldfish Crackers before bakingGoldfish Crackers

Ingredients:

8 oz block extra sharp cheese (or your favorite flavor)

1 cup whole wheat flour

4 tablespoons butter

2-4 tablespoons ice water

3/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 teaspoon paprika

6-8 drops yellow food coloring (optional)

3-4 drops red food coloring (optional)

Instructions

Chop cheese into cubes

Put cheese, flour,butter, salt and Paprika and food coloring in a food processor. Process until combined. Will look like coarse crumbs.

add water 1 Tablespoon at a time until dough sticks together

remove from food processor, form into a ball and wrap ball of dough in plastic wrap. refrigerate for 30 min.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cut about 1/4 of the dough off, roll on a floured surfaced until about 1/8 inch thick. Cut into shapes. Transfer to a cookie sheet and bake for about 10 minutes or until puffed and crispy.  Watch them closely or they will burn.

 

To make cheez it’s – cut into squares using a rolling cutter, transfer the entire sheet to a cookie sheet and bake for about 10 minutes.  The crackers break apart easily after they are baked.

 

How to make the cookie cutters

this was a lot of work but actually pretty fun – I love a challenge and I love to learn new things so this was right up my alley!

 

Mini Goldfish Cookie Cutters Mini Goldfish Cookie Cutters

I started with a soda can which I rinsed and dried.

Next, I used metal shears to cut off the top and bottom of the can and cut it down one side to get a flat sheet of aluminum.

Then, I marked the can in even strips with a sharpie and a straight edge and cut these into strips along the marked lines (about 1 inch wide)

Next, I folded the strips in half because I did not want to use the sharp aluminum edge and rolled it through a pasta  press to make the fold nice and crisp.

Then I made a model fish out of cardboard which I glued together to make a template which I could mold the aluminum around.

For each cookie cutter, I wrapped the aluminum around the mold to form it into the proper shape.

I then tucked the ends together to get my final cookie cutter.

Since these were so small and I did not want to cut each one by hand I decided to design a rolling cutter, I found a tube to place the fish on, lined them up and threaded a wire through the front and back ends of each fish, this served to hold them together and to anchor them to the tube.  I wrapped the tube in clay, positioned the fish and baked it until the clay was solid.

Tada! one rolling goldfish cookie cutter – It worked pretty well, But I would suggest making sure all the cutters are even in height as some do not cut because they cannot reach the dough.

Leave a Reply

Sugar-Free Mom

Just another WordPress.com site

Chocolate Covered Katie

The Healthy Dessert Blog

Creative Nutrition

How to Make the Foods we Need to Eat

